Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5K – Next boarding cam ?

This camera just blew my mind so figured it would be a worthy thing to post. I have been keeping my eye on cameras and reading lots of reviews on the net and in board mag photography sections, etc. Just came across this one today, and if this site’s price is attainable in Canada, consider it mine.

Panasonic DMC - TZ5A

Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5K 9MP Digital Camera with 10x Wide Angle MEGA Optical Image Stabilized Zoom.
The TZ5 is also capable of recording 720p high-definition motion pictures, and because of its support of SD memory cards, is easily compatible with Panasonic Viera plasma HDTVs that have an integrated SD memory card slot, so viewing photos is simple. Also, with the newly added HD component output capability, users can also connect the TZ5 to an HDTV and watch a slideshow complete with mood-appropriate music

**Update: So I called Panasonic today, and apparently this camera comes out “late March”. As of March 26th, however, the website says “Late April”… I am glad I did not pre-order.

**Further update: This post is getting a lot of hits for people searching this cam. I don’t really have much substance on here so here are some links below that I have found in researching this, as it looks like some sites have gotten their hands on it for previews. I will most likely end up buying the predecessor, the DMC-TZ3K , as it has gotten great reviews across the board. The only things lacking are the ability to zoom while taking video, a bit less resolution, and a few other minor features. For the extra price of almost $100 in Canada, I think I will hold off on grabbing the TZ5A for now, unless anyone knows of a way to find it for the $349 in Canada, as our dollars are close to par.

Links:

Camera Labs Review

CNET First Look – Video Preview

Panasonic Official Product Page

Price comparison(USA)

DigitalCameraReview.com – TZ5 First Look

2 responses to “Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5K – Next boarding cam ?

  1. Well Amazon must love me right now… This post is now the #1 result in Google for “lumix tz5a”, DMC-TZ5A ” and just about every other keyword to do with this cam… Going to change the link to Panasonic’s website instead. If only I had any substance in this article.. If any one knows when it is coming out and where it will retail in Canada, please post here!

  2. I’ve also been looking forward to trying out this camera. I hear that the HD movies are a good feature, but the quality doesn’t beat the camcorders. Still, not a bad option. Check out the video tour here:

    http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Panasonic_Lumix_DMC_TZ5_TZ15/video_review.shtml

    Circuit City had it listed as being released March 31st. I’m not sure if their up in Canada, but if they have it, I’m sure other retailers will as well.

Comment On Post

